Department of Anaesthesiology & Critical Care


Department of Anaesthesiology and Critical Care (established in 1999) provides anaesthetic services to all surgical specialities of Justice K S Hegde Charitable Hospital and A B Shetty Memorial Institute of Dental Sciences and also takes care of critically ill patients. These include General Surgery, Orthopaedics, ENT, Head & Neck, Ophthalmology, Obstetrics and Gynaecology and super specialities like Neurosurgery, Urology, Paediatric Surgery, Plastic Surgery, Craniofacial and Onco-surgeries. Department is in charge of 20 bedded multi-disciplinary Intensive Care Unit and a 16 bedded high dependence unit. The Department is actively involved in the acute and chronic pain relief services. The department runs a regular pain clinic, it has an outpatient pre anaesthesia clinic for evaluation and preparation of surgical patients for both outpatient and in-patient procedures, and a labour analgesia unit to take care of labour pain during childbirth. Outside the operation theatre, the department caters to the needs of other departments like radiological procedures and endoscopic procedures, ECT etc.

Over and above, the department is actively involved in promoting the dissemination of knowledge and skill among fellow anaesthesiologists by conducting various academic programmes like CME and workshops at national and local levels. Moreover, department offers training in first aid and CPR for general public especially school children on regular basis. More than 6,000 public received training in CPR during 2016-17. Our department is a recognised training centre for difficult airway management and one week structured hands on training programme on fibre optic intubation is conducted at regular intervals for external candidates.

Staff List

Outpatient Department at Justice K. S Hegde Charitable Hospital runs on all days of the week including Sundays. OPD timings are from 9.00 AM to 4.00 PM and on Sundays from 9.00 AM to 1.00 PM.

Sl. No. Name Designation
1 Dr. Anand Bangera Professor & HOD
2 Dr. B.Jayaram Rai Professor
3 Dr. Gayathri Bhat Professor
4 Dr.U.S.Raveendra Professor
5 Dr. Sripada Mehandale Professor
6 Dr. Sumalatha R.Shetty Professor
7 Dr. Avanish Bhandary Professor
8 Dr. Anil Kumar Shetty Professor
9 Dr. Manjunath R. Kamath Addnl. Professor
10 Dr. Nikhil M.P. Associate Professor
11 Dr.Rashmi Soori Asst.Professor
12 Dr.Govindaraj Bhat M. Asst.Professor
13 Dr.Murali Shankar Bhat K. Asst. Professor
14 Dr.Siri Kandavara Asst. Professor
15 Dr. Murali Krishna V. Sr.Resident
16 Dr. Usha Kiran Sr.Resident
17 Dr.Harish B.G. Sr.Resident
18 Dr. Varun Bhaskar Sr.Resident
19 Dr. Gandeva Ramesh M Sr.Resident
20 Dr.Shareena T. Sr. Resident

PG Residents

Sl. No. Name Designation
1 Dr Ashwini Reddy Junior Resident
2 Dr Namitha C N Junior Resident
3 Dr Nimin Mathew Junior Resident
4 Dr Sara Jaison Junior Resident
5 Dr Sawani Shiraz Junior Resident
6 Dr Ananthnarayan K N Junior Resident
7 Dr Kamaruddeen Junior Resident
8 Dr Prashanth Junior Resident
9 Dr Sindhu C Junior Resident
10 Dr Shameer P Junior Resident
11 Dr Aditya Kumar Junior Resident
12 Dr Aravind Raveendran Junior Resident
13 Dr Chandana B Junior Resident
14 Dr Rashif Mohammed Ashraf R M Junior Resident
15 Dr R Suraj Junior Resident
16 Dr Y R Nikhil Chakravarthy Junior Resident
17 Dr Anwar H Junior Resident
18 Dr Sudham Shetty Junior Resident
19 Dr Priyanka G Junior Resident
20 Dr Anagha M V Junior Resident
21 Dr Anjali Mohanan Junior Resident
22 Dr Anthur Ajay Kumar Junior Resident
23 Dr Sowmyasree Kota Junior Resident
24 Dr Smruthi V T Junior Resident
25 Dr Sruthi Shankar Junior Resident
26 Dr Nagaraj Kandagal Junior Resident
27 Dr Sakshi Tiku Junior Resident
28 Dr Suvajit Podder Junior Resident
29 Dr DSSVB Murali Krishna Junior Resident
30 Dr Ravi Kumar T Junior Resident


  • Department provides anaesthesia services in all operation theatres daily.
  • It runs PAE clinic and pain clinic daily between 10am to 2pm.
  • Specialty anaesthesia services are provided to all broad surgical specialties and super specialties like
    • Neurosurgery
    • Paediatric Surgery
    • Cardiac surgery
    • Maxillofacial and craniofacial unit
    • Urology
  • Anaesthesia services are also provided in Endoscopy suites, IVF lab, Radio diagnosis department, LT-OT and Emergency OT.